I Said No Salt On My Margarita!

I must confess, I don’t really like margaritas (especially with salt on them!)  My buddy Steve used to walk around saying that totally out of context, fun.  **update-I have mistakenly referenced the WRONG movie in this post.  Yes, I know, stupid on my part and I should have known better, I published a big blunder.  The quote is from Milton of Office Space, much apologies people.  So without further ado, I give you Milton, in all his glory.

"I said no salt in my margarita, no salt!"

This post has nothing to do with margaritas, just salt.  For tonight’s meal, I didn’t use ANY salt, instead I used fresh orange juice and garlic.  You might also notice a theme for this week: chicken, mushrooms and asparagus.  We get a farm fresh delivery each week and we tend to use the ingredients until they are gone.

I marinated a 6oz. organic chicken breast in fresh orange juice and garlic for about 25 minutes.  I marinated the asparagus in olive oil and garlic powder (powder makes a nice little crusty coating when it’s grilled.)  I am hooked on herb goat cheese so the mushrooms got stuffed with it.  After I grilled the chicken( about 9 minutes) I squeezed the rest of the orange onto it.  Delicious!

Not bad, a little smoke, earth with a slight fruity finish

A little glass of Shiraz and a couple orange jelly slices and it’s a great night!

One Response to “I Said No Salt On My Margarita!”

  1. That quote flashed me back to Milton on Office Space. “I said no, no salt on my margarita. There were big grains, big grains of salt”

Leave a Reply

