That’s Going to Leave a Mark….

I got a gift certificate this past Christmas to get a new tattoo at Metamorphosis Tattoos in Indianapolis.  The place is bomb, they do great work and it was the most personal gift I have ever received.  The new piece was going to be a Little 500 tattoo that I got for my four years of riding.  I wanted have a larger one but I didn’t want to stick with the cycling theme.  This is one that is associated with music, both my passion and my work.

Here is part of the series of photos from the sessions and you can find the whole series here.

The sketch that Megan Zoeller made of the front part of the piece.

antique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

Here is a portion of the front of the piece done after an hour and a half after my first session.


antique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

The second session had my calf piece almost completed in an hour and a half.  It’s just missing some additional color that Megan put in at the final session.

antique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

This is after the last session, which took another 2 hours to complete.

antique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

I am very happy with the way everything turned out.  It took a lot for me to hand ideas over to someone and let them create something.  This was a way  for me to get over that fear and I can’t wait to start my sleeve.

antique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

Part of the Front & Calf Pieces Completedantique record player, phonograph player, bands, blogstoryshort, kylehodges, megan zoeller, metamorphosis tattoos, mod,psychedelic,record player, root movements, tattoo vinyl,vinyl records

Your thoughts/comments are welcomed.

Leave a Reply

